MOONBOW
MOONBOW Podcast
Picture Books Are Performances
0:00
-10:34

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of MOONBOW

Picture Books Are Performances

Moonbow Storytime: Four Stories from Ellen's Lion by Crockett Johnson
4

“Tell me a story.” —The Lion’s Own Story (1963)

Picture books are performances. But even books that appear to be above picture-book age can benefit from being read aloud. Ellen’s Lion is one of those books, and I’m going to try my best to perform it for you. (I never thought I would sing on the internet, but never say never.)

This is an audio companion to my piece, Crockett Johnson: The Art of Imagination. Read that first to learn more about Johnson and Ellen’s Lion. Then, listen to my introduction at the top of this page to understand why reading this book out loud is so important.

The book consists of twelve short stories; these are four of my favorites.

Become a paid subscriber

Conversation and Song

0:00
-3:37

This post is for paid subscribers

MOONBOW
MOONBOW Podcast
A newsletter about children's books