16 Comments
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Taylor Sterling

Team Noel here.

I too have distinct sensory memories of my childhood library and I can even remember the children's librarian’s face.

I remember there was a large hallway before you entered the library and that hallway was always filled with tables and tables of blank tax documents during tax season. It felt exciting to be among all these grown up documents!

A new local library opened when I was in high school and I studied there regularly. One day while studying, a boy slid a note to me as he walked past my table. It said something like ‘I think you’re cute’ with his number. I never called him but am pretty sure I still have the note tucked in a high school memory box at my parents house.

Expand full comment

Most of my library memories are from college. I always used to study upstairs in one quiet corner of the stacks. Unfortunately, it was not as aesthetically pleasing as Felicity’s library 😂 I was in middle school when the show first premiered, and I remembering watching it and thinking: oh I can’t wait to go to college and experience everything she did! Suffice to say, it was nothing like the show lol (although I did have a roommate who was my opposite). And I am team Ben forever! Though I seem to be in the minority on here ✌️

Expand full comment

One time, as a high schooler, I got caught in a tornado at my local public library and as all the staff and patrons sat against the back wall with our heads between our knees, I thought, "I'm sorry I won't get to tell my parents I love them, but dying in a library isn't the worst way to go." 😂 I've never forgotten it.

Expand full comment

I went to a library preschool program when I was a little one. I don't remember much, but there was a great rug that I thought was neat, and we'd nap in these cots in the children's room between the stacks and I absolutely loved it.

In college I worked at the university library. After a brief stint in the circulation department, I worked in the fines and fees department for four years. The worst, and the best. My job was to print out all the fine notices and labels, then stuff them in envelopes to be sent through university mail. (I definitely crossed privacy protocol and wrote notes and little comics with Garfield demanding library books be returned on anyone's fine notice that I knew.) I would get done so quickly, then would have hours to myself. I felt guilty and mentioned it to my supervisor and she laughed in my face and said something like, "You'll figure it out. I'm not worried as long as the job is done." So I would get my work done quickly, and then I'd have hours and hours to read or do homework. There were a few spots in the stacks that were so remote and quiet with a perfect chair, so every shift would also involve a nap as well.

Honestly piecing this life-trend together now: I find great comfort sleeping in libraries. ha!

Expand full comment
Aug 30, 2022Liked by Taylor Sterling

I was and will always be team Noel.

We went to story time at the library every week when I was a kid and while I have so many book memories (The Little Miss.. books come to mind) I can mostly drum up sensory memories like the clicking of the mat on the way out under my feet and the drinking fountain by the door that we always had to stop and drink from because it was ice cold. The library was always a comfortable place - like being at my grandmas house or at a cozy vacation cabin. As I got older I’d ride my bike there during the summer by myself and stay awhile reading RL Stein in the air conditioned teen room.

I also remember the day I looked up the word sex in the dictionary when I was in about 5th grade … feeling like I was breaking a rule but not being able to stop myself.

Expand full comment
Aug 30, 2022Liked by Taylor Sterling

Most memorable library moment was when I decided to learn sign language to heal a broken heart and distract myself after my then boyfriend/now husband broke up with me. I sat down at a table and serendipitously sat next to a deaf woman who was so excited to help me learn to sign! It was wild- what are the chances? We had to communicate a lot through writing down notes but it is such a great memory :)

Also, Team Ben!

Expand full comment

all my memories of being in the library at UCLA are like my moments of feeling like wow i am a college student!!! which feels like one million years ago. and this felicity scene brings me right back. i think I’ve always been team Noel ??

Expand full comment