18 Comments

Ohhh this really made me think...and gosh we need to do a better job of representing moms in children's literature because it was really hard to think of one that is the most memorable in a POSITIVE way! I'm deep in Harry Pottery land, and I gotta say Molly Weasley...for how she supported her kids AND Harry.

Expand full comment

Ole Golly from Harriet the Spy!

Expand full comment
May 9, 2022Liked by Taylor Sterling

The mom from I Love You Forever! 😭 I still can barely get through that book without crying.

Expand full comment
May 8, 2022Liked by Taylor Sterling

I actually am having a hard time thinking of one which has sent me on a funny spiral about how many childrens books really are centered around parental loss. The mama rocking her grown son in Love Your Forever obviously rings a bell but I’m going to have to ruminate on this more abs keep my ear out when reading to the kids!

Expand full comment
May 7, 2022Liked by Taylor Sterling

I’ve been thinking a lot about this. This likely isn’t the most memorable mom, but she’s my favorite. A kindred spirit! Dory’s mom in the Dory Fantasmagory series. You see her in all her mom glory: she loves her kids, she’s overwhelmed, her kids make her laugh, she’s helping the kids navigate conflict, she’s frustrated, she’s funny. You see a fully fleshed out person reflected on the pages which is so refreshing.

Expand full comment
May 7, 2022Liked by Taylor Sterling

I'm a huge fan of The Country Bunny. Reentering the work force after 21 babies? Swift, kind and quick. She does it all.

Expand full comment
May 7, 2022Liked by Taylor Sterling

I love Peter’s mom in The Snowy Day. She takes off his wet socks after his adventures. So nurturing.

Expand full comment
May 7, 2022Liked by Taylor Sterling

I have to agree with Ginny and say that the mom in Love You Forever is so epic. I literally can not read the book all the way through. My voice cracks and breaks and I inevitably break down and cry. Runaway Bunny mama is also one that stuck with me as a child. P.D. Eastman's Are You My Mother was another one of my very favorites when I was young. I also always loved the mother in Good Dog Carl series. Then as I got older in grade school I was more fascinated with characters who had been orphaned or lost their parents somehow and were taken in by these other wonderful people. The American Girls Samantha who lives with her stern grandmother, but especially Anne of Green Gables. She starts off as this super stern, always by the rules, no room for niceness person, but she sees how Anne needs love and she gives it in such lovely ways. She also ends up standing up for her when other adults question her spirited, fanciful ways, which I really loved. And of course I can't not mention Harry Potter :). Yes he has a HORRIBLE aunt who ends up as his care taker after his parent's death, but he is very quickly found and cared for by Molly Weasly (Ron's mom). I always loved seeing how she supported and cared for him even if he wasn't her own son.

Expand full comment
May 7, 2022Liked by Taylor Sterling

Ms. Honey is a very memorable storybook mother figure but also the mom in Love You Forever and honorable mention to the tree in The Giving Tree- the ultimate embodiment of unconditional love 😭

Expand full comment

I always relate to the mother in Olivia, who reminds me of my own spirited daughter who tells her - you know you really wear me out but I love you. It’s kinda nice to hear parents speak like real parents in books!

Expand full comment